Connect with us


Goodyear 400 Starting Lineup and Stats for NASCAR Cup Series Race

This coming weekend will see NASCAR pay tribute to drivers and cars of yore. Throwback Weekend is set to descend on Darlington Raceway. All three national series will be in action, including the NASCAR Cup Series which will run the Goodyear 400 on Sunday afternoon. This article contains all kinds of vital information necessary to get you ready for race No. 12 of the NASCAR Cup Series season. Read on for the Goodyear 400 starting lineup, start time, fast facts and NASCAR stats.

Goodyear 400 starting lineup NASCAR stats Cup Series Darlington Raceway
Credit: Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

NASCAR Cup Series at Darlington Raceway

51st Goodyear 400
Date: Sunday, May 9, 2021
Start Time: 3:30 p.m. EST
Track: Darlington Raceway — Darlington, SC
Coverage: FS1
Pole Sitter: Brad Keselowski
Defending Champions: Kevin Harvick (Race I) and Denny Hamlin (Race II)

Goodyear 400 Race Details

Distance: 400.238 miles
Laps: 293
Lap Length: 1.366 miles
Stages: Three (Laps 1-90; Laps 91-185; Laps 186-293)
Surface: Asphalt
Turns: 4

Goodyear 400 Starting Grid

See below for a breakdown of qualifying.

Starting PositionDriverCar NumberTeamManufacturer
1Kyle Larson5Hendrick MotorsportsChevrolet
2Chase Elliott9Hendrick MotorsportsChevrolet
3William Byron24Hendrick MotorsportsChevrolet
4Denny Hamlin11Joe Gibbs RacingToyota
5Kyle Busch18Joe Gibbs RacingFord
6Austin Dillon3Richard Childress RacingChevrolet
7Alex Bowman48Hendrick MotorsportsChevrolet
8Kevin Harvick4Stewart-Haas RacingFord
9Brad Keselowski2Team PenskeFord
10Tyler Reddick8Richard Childress RacingChevrolet
11Ryan Blaney12Team PenskeFord
12Chris Buescher17Roush Fenway RacingFord
13Joey Logano22Team PenskeFord
14Ricky Stenhouse Jr.47JTG Daugherty RacingChevrolet
15Bubba Wallace2323XI RacingToyota
16Daniel Suarez99Trackhouse RacingChevrolet
17Matt DiBenedetto21Wood Brothers RacingFord
18Erik Jones43Richard Petty MotorsportsChevrolet
19Martin Truex Jr.19Joe Gibbs RacingToyota
20Christopher Bell20Joe Gibbs RacingToyota
21Michael McDowell34Front Row MotorsportsFord
22Corey LaJoie7Spire MotorsportsChevrolet
23Cole Custer41Stewart-Haas RacingFord
24Ryan Newman6Roush Fenway RacingFord
25Chase Briscoe14Stewart-Haas RacingFord
26Aric Almirola10Stewart-Haas RacingFord
27Ryan Preece37JTG Daugherty RacingChevrolet
28Anthony Alfredo38Front Row MotorsportsFord
29Ross Chastain42Chip Ganassi RacingChevrolet
30Kurt Busch1Chip Ganassi RacingChevrolet
31Ben Rhodes77Spire MotorsportsChevrolet
32James Davison15Rick Ware RacingChevrolet
33Quin Houff00StarCom RacingChevrolet
34Garrett Smithley53Petty Ware RacingFord
35Scott Heckert78Live Fast MotorsportsFord
36Josh Billicki52Rick Ware RacingFord
37Cody Ware51Rick Ware RacingChevrolet

NASCAR Cup Series Qualifying Overview

Following the virus-caused interruption to racing last season, NASCAR did away with practice and qualifying runs at the majority of races. A combination of grouped draws and a performance-metrics formula were used to determine starting grids. That same formula remains in place for the majority of races on the 2021 NASCAR Cup Series season, including this weekend’s Goodyear 400 starting lineup.

So, what exactly is involved in the performance-metrics formula? Well, it draws on a number of factors including individual race performances and seaosn-long results. The following breakdown illustrates the weighted grades associated with each component of NASCAR’s metrics formula:

NASCAR Cup Series Metrics Formula Breakdown

  • 35 percent: Team owner points ranking
  • 25 percent: Driver’s finishing position from the previous race
  • 25 percent: Car owner’s finishing position from the previous race
  • 15 percent: Fastest lap from the previous race
Austin Dillon NASCAR Cup Series Goodyear 400 starting lineup Darlington Raceway
Credit: Robert Laberge/Getty Images)

Goodyear 400 Stats and NASCAR Betting Facts

  • The very first edition of the race was held back in 1952, although the name of this running is unknown. Dick Rathmann emerged victorious in a race that was only 80 total laps. The spring race at Darlington Raceway would not be run again until 1957 in what was a 219-lap event.
  • From 1957-62, the Goodyear 400 was a race specifically for convertibles. Now THAT is a fun fact!
  • A common nickname for the spring Darlington race is the Rebel 400, which traces its roots back quite a way. The race was officially named “Rebel” from 1957-78.
  • This race also had a more recent pause spanning from 2005-2019. NASCAR returned to Darlington with a pair of spring races last year as part of their on-the-fly scheduling adjustments.
  • David Pearson tops the all-time driver list with seven career Goodyear 400 victories. He sits just one ahead of Dale Earnhardt.
  • Thanks to the recent hiatus, the only active NASCAR Cup Series drivers to win the spring race at Darlington were last year’s respective doubleheader winners: Kevin Harvick and Denny Hamlin.
  • The now-defunct Holman-Moody Racing’s seven wins are the most all-time in this race.
  • Among active race teams, Richard Childress Racing leads the way with five Goodyear 400 victories. However, the most recent came all the way back in 1994.
  • Ford has the most wins all-time in this race among manufacturers with 18. Chevrolet is a close second at 15.

Follow us on all of our social channels! Check out our Twitter, Facebook and YouTube for more great FlurrySports content.

wine subscription

Get 50% off your first curated six-bottle case of wine at!

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in NASCAR