Connect with us


Food City Dirt Race Starting Lineup and Qualifying Notes for NASCAR Cup Series Race

For the second year in a row, the spring NASCAR Cup Series race at Bristol Motor Speedway is set to be run on a dirt surface. Sunday night’s Food City Dirt Race is being billed as one of the NASCAR’s showcase events of the season. It certainly had a qualifying process that was befitting of a marquee event. Unlike most NASCAR races which have individual time trial qualifying procedures, the Food City Dirt Race starting lineup was set based on the results of several heat races.

The following shares all sorts of vital information to help get you set for Sunday night’s NASCAR Cup Series action. Read on for the complete Food City Dirt Race starting lineup, start time and NASCAR TV as well as notes and key takeaways from qualifying.

Food City Dirt Race starting lineup NASCAR Cup Series stats qualifying notes Bristol Motor Speedway
Credit: Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

NASCAR Cup Series at Bristol Motor Speedway

2022 Food City Dirt Race Info

Date: Sunday, Apr. 17, 2022
Start Time: 7 p.m. EST
Track: Bristol Motor Speedway — Bristol, TN
Coverage: FOX
Pole Sitter: Cole Custer
Defending Champion: Joey Logano

Food City Dirt Race Breakdown

Distance: 133.25 miles
Laps: 250
Lap Length: 0.533 miles
Stages: Three (Laps 1-100; 101-200; 201-250)
Surface: Dirt
Turns: 4
Banking: Turns — 24-28° progressively; Frontstretch — 5-9°; Backstretch — 4-8°

Official Food City Dirt Race Starting Lineup

The 2022 Food City Dirt Race took a unique and much more elaborate form to set its starting lineup than the majority of NASCAR Cup Series events. After a pair of practice sessions on Friday, drivers competed in a series of qualifying heat races on Saturday to set the official starting grid for Sunday’s race. The lineup was officially determined based on total points accumulated in each heat race.

Drivers had two different ways in which they could accumulate qualifying points. The first was simply based on where they finished in their respective heat (first-place earned 10 points, second-place nine points, and so on). Additional points could be gained based on the number of positions gained in the qualifying heat. Starting orders for the four heat races were set randomly. Thus, if a driver started ninth in his qualifying heat and finished third, he would receive both eight points for the finishing result and an additional six points for positions gained relative to where he started.

After the four qualifying heats were run on Saturday, it was determined that Cole Custer would start on the pole in the Food City Dirt Race starting lineup. The following table displays the complete starting grid for Sunday night’s NASCAR Cup Series race.

Starting PositionDriverCar NumberTeamManufacturer
1Cole Custer41Stewart-Haas RacingFord
2Christopher Bell20Joe Gibbs RacingToyota
3Tyler Reddick8Richard Childress RacingChevrolet
4Chase Briscoe14Stewart-Haas RacingFord
5Kyle Larson5Hendrick MotorsportsChevrolet
6Justin Haley31Kaulig RacingChevrolet
7Ty Dillon42Petty GMS MotorsportsChevrolet
8Alex Bowman48Hendrick MotorsportsChevrolet
9Chase Elliott9Hendrick MotorsportsChevrolet
10Joey Logano22Team PenskeFord
11Kyle Busch18Joe Gibbs RacingToyota
12Austin Dillon3Richard Childress RacingChevrolet
13Kurt Busch4523XI RacingToyota
14Erik Jones43Petty GMS MotorsportsChevrolet
15Chris Buescher17Roush Fenway Keselowski RacingFord
16Ricky Stenhouse Jr.47JTG Daugherty RacingChevrolet
17Michael McDowell34Front Row MotorsportsFord
18Brad Keselowski6Roush Fenway Keselowski RacingFord
19William Byron24Hendrick MotorsportsChevrolet
20Austin Cindric2Team PenskeFord
21Daniel Suarez99Trackhouse RacingChevrolet
22Bubba Wallace2323XI RacingToyota
23Todd Gilliland38Front Row MotorsportsFord
24Harrison Burton21Wood Brothers RacingFord
25Ryan Blaney12Team PenskeFord
26Corey LaJoie7Spire MotorsportsChevrolet
27Justin Allgaier77Spire MotorsportsChevrolet
28Noah Gragson16Kaulig RacingChevrolet
29J.J. Yeley15Rick Ware RacingFord
30Martin Truex Jr.19Joe Gibbs RacingToyota
31Aric Almirola10Stewart-Haas RacingFord
32Kevin Harvick4Stewart-Haas RacingFord
33Ross Chastain1Trackhouse RacingChevrolet
34Denny Hamlin11Joe Gibbs RacingToyota
35Cody Ware51Rick Ware RacingFord
36Josh Williams78Live Fast MotorsportsFord

NASCAR Food City Dirt Race Practice and Qualifying Notes

  • Tyler Reddick was victorious in the first qualifying heat on Saturday. Runner-up Cole Custer bagged enough points to claim the pole position in the Food City Dirt Race starting lineup.
  • The second qualifying heat race was won by Christopher Bell.
  • Justin Haley was victorious in the third qualifying heat race. He was followed by defending race champion, Joey Logano.
  • Ty Dillon won the fourth and final qualifying heat race which consisted of a loaded field as far as dirt track experience is concerned. NASCAR betting favorite Kyle Larson finished third in the heat.
  • Prior to winning his qualifying heat, Tyler Reddick also paced the NASCAR Cup Series field in the first practice session on Friday. Reddick posted the fastest lap time at 20.017 seconds.
  • The second practice session on Friday was a bit slower across the board. Denny Hamlin posted the top time at 20.668 seconds while Reddick was once again fast with the fourth-fastest time. Kyle Busch and Todd Gilliland were the only other drivers to post lap times faster than 20.7 seconds.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in NASCAR