Connect with us


Toyota Owners 400 Starting Lineup and Stats for NASCAR Cup Series Race

Last week’s NASCAR Cup Series action at Martinsville Speedway had it all. From inclement weather to a caution-filled final stage and a whole lot of beating and banging in between, it was truly short track racing at its finest. This weekend, NASCAR heads to the opposite end of Virginia to Richmond Raceway for a second straight week of short track action. The Toyota Owners 400 is scheduled to be run on Sunday afternoon on the 0.75-mile oval.

This article contains all of the vital information necessary to get you ready for the ninth race of the NASCAR Cup Series season. Read on for the Toyota Owners 400 starting lineup, start time, fast facts and statistics.

NASCAR Cup Series Richmond Raceway Toyota Owners 400 starting lineup
Credit: JAMES H. WALLACE | Richmond Times-Dispatch

NASCAR Cup Series at Richmond Raceway

65th Toyota Owners 400
Date: Sunday, April 18, 2021
Start Time: 3 p.m. EST
Track: Richmond Raceway — Richmond, VA
Coverage: FOX
Pole Sitter: Martin Truex Jr.
Defending Champion: Martin Truex Jr. (2019)

Toyota Owners 400 Race Details

Distance: 300 miles
Laps: 400
Lap Length: 0.75 miles
Stages: Three (Laps 1-80; Laps 81-235; Laps 236-400)
Surface: Asphalt
Turns: 4

Toyota Owners 400 Starting Grid

See below for a breakdown of qualifying.

Starting PositionDriverCar NumberTeamManufacturer
1Kyle Larson5Hendrick MotorsportsChevrolet
2Chase Elliott9Hendrick MotorsportsChevrolet
3William Byron24Hendrick MotorsportsChevrolet
4Ryan Blaney12Team PenskeFord
5Kurt Busch1Chip Ganassi RacingChevrolet
6Denny Hamlin11Joe Gibbs RacingToyota
7Cole Custer41Stewart-Haas RacingFord
8Christopher Bell20Joe Gibbs RacingToyota
9Kevin Harvick4Stewart-Haas RacingFord
10Joey Logano22Team PenskeFord
11Brad Keselowski2Team PenskeFord
12Martin Truex Jr.19Joe Gibbs RacingToyota
13Kyle Busch18Joe Gibbs RacingToyota
14Matt DiBenedetto21Wood Brothers RacingFord
15Alex Bowman48Hendrick MotorsportsChevrolet
16Ross Chastain42Chip Ganassi RacingChevrolet
17Daniel Suarez99Trackhouse RacingChevrolet
18Aric Almirola10Stewart-Haas RacingFord
19Ryan Newman6Roush Fenway RacingFord
20Tyler Reddick8Richard Childress RacingChevrolet
21Ricky Stenhouse Jr.47JTG Daugherty RacingChevrolet
22Chase Briscoe14Stewart-Haas RacingFord
23Austin Dillon3Richard Childress RacingChevrolet
24Corey LaJoie7Spire MotorsportsChevrolet
25Bubba Wallace2323XI RacingToyota
26Chris Buescher17Roush Fenway RacingFord
27Erik Jones43Richard Petty MotorsportsChevrolet
28Michael McDowell34Front Row MotorsportsFord
29Justin Haley77Spire MotorsportsChevrolet
30Anthony Alfredo38Front Row MotorsportsFord
31Ryan Preece37JTG Daugherty RacingChevrolet
32B.J. McLeod78Live Fast MotorsportsFord
33Cody Ware51Petty Ware RacingChevrolet
34Joey Gase53Rick Ware RacingChevrolet
35Quin Houff00StarCom RacingChevrolet
36David Starr13MBM MotorsportsToyota
37Josh Bilicki52Rick Ware RacingChevrolet
38Garrett Smithley15Rick Ware RacingChevrolet
39Timmy Hill66MBM MotorsportsToyota

NASCAR Cup Series Qualifying Overview

Following the virus-caused interruption to racing last season, NASCAR did away with practice and qualifying runs at the majority of races. A combination of grouped draws and a performance-metrics formula were used to determine starting lineups. That same formula remains in place for the majority of races on the 2021 NASCAR Cup Series season, including this weekend’s Toyota Owners 400.

So, what exactly is involved in the performance-metrics formula? Well, it draws on a number of factors including individual race performances and seaosn-long results. The following breakdown illustrates the weighted grades associated with each component of NASCAR’s metrics formula:

NASCAR Cup Series Metrics Formula Breakdown

  • 35 percent: Team owner points ranking
  • 25 percent: Driver’s finishing position from the previous race
  • 25 percent: Car owner’s finishing position from the previous race
  • 15 percent: Fastest lap from the previous race
Kyle Busch Toyota Owners 400 starting lineup NASCAR Cup Series NASCAR betting
Credit: Nigel Kinrade / NKP / LAT Images)

Toyota Owners 400 Stats and NASCAR Betting Facts

  • Lee Petty was victorious in the very first edition of the race in 1953. The event has been held in all but three years since, including 1954, 1958 and 2020.
  • Up until lights were installed at Richmond Raceway in 1991, the Toyota Owners 400 was run on Sunday afternoon the week after the Daytona 500.
  • Martin Truex Jr. is the most recent winner of this race, taking the checkered in 2019 with an average speed of 99.852 mph. It was the fastest average speed for the winner of the race since 2012.
  • Richard Petty is the all-time leader with six wins in this race. Among active drivers, Kyle Busch has the most victories with five. He is the only active NASCAR Cup Series driver with more than two wins in the event.
  • Joe Gibbs Racing leads all race teams with nine Toyota Owners 400 wins. All nine have come since the turn of the century.
  • Joe Gibbs Racing drivers have won three of the last four and seven of the last 11 editions of this race.
  • Chevrolet leads all manufacturers with 21 wins in this race. However, only two of those victories have come in the last 11 editions of the event.
  • Despite winning seven of the last 11 editions of the Toyota Owners 400, Toyota only ranks fourth in all-time manufacturer wins in the event.

Follow us on all of our social channels! Check out our Twitter, Facebook and YouTube for more great FlurrySports content.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in NASCAR