Connect with us


Pennzoil 400 Starting Lineup and Stats for NASCAR Cup Series Race

After three straight weeks of racing in Florida to begin the 2021 NASCAR Cup Series season, the action shifts out west this weekend. The 1.5-mile Las Vegas Motor Speedway will be the site of Sunday’s Pennzoil 400. After three surprising victors in the first three races, including William Byron winning last week’s Dixie Vodka 400, the bar has certainly been set high in terms of excitement.

This article contains all of the vital information necessary to get you ready for the fourth race of the NASCAR Cup Series season. Read on for the Pennzoil 400 starting lineup, start time, fast facts and statistics.

NASCAR Cup Series Pennzoil 400 starting lineup Las Vegas Motor Speedway
Chris Graythen/Getty Images

NASCAR Cup Series at Las Vegas Motor Speedway

23rd Pennzoil 400 presented by Jiffy Lube
Date: Sunday, Mar. 7, 2021
Start Time: 3:30 p.m. EST
Track: Las Vegas Motor Speedway — Las Vegas, NV
Coverage: FOX
Pole Sitter: Kevin Harvick
Defending Champion: Joey Logano

Pennzoil 400 Race Details

Distance: 400 miles
Laps: 267
Lap Length: 1.5 miles (2.4 kilometers)
Stages: Three (Laps 1-80; Laps 81-160; Laps 161-267)
Surface: Asphalt
Turns: 4

Pennzoil 400 Starting Grid

See below for a breakdown of qualifying.

Starting PositionDriverCar NumberTeamManufacturer
1Kyle Larson5Hendrick MotorsportsChevrolet
2Chase Elliott9Hendrick MotorsportsChevrolet
3William Byron24Hendrick MotorsportsChevrolet
4Ryan Blaney12Team PenskeFord
5Kurt Busch1Chip Ganassi RacingChevrolet
6Denny Hamlin11Joe Gibbs RacingToyota
7Cole Custer41Stewart-Haas RacingFord
8Christopher Bell20Joe Gibbs RacingToyota
9Kevin Harvick4Stewart-Haas RacingFord
10Joey Logano22Team PenskeFord
11Brad Keselowski2Team PenskeFord
12Martin Truex Jr.19Joe Gibbs RacingToyota
13Kyle Busch18Joe Gibbs RacingToyota
14Matt DiBenedetto21Wood Brothers RacingFord
15Alex Bowman48Hendrick MotorsportsChevrolet
16Ross Chastain42Chip Ganassi RacingChevrolet
17Daniel Suarez99Trackhouse RacingChevrolet
18Aric Almirola10Stewart-Haas RacingFord
19Ryan Newman6Roush Fenway RacingFord
20Tyler Reddick8Richard Childress RacingChevrolet
21Ricky Stenhouse Jr.47JTG Daugherty RacingChevrolet
22Chase Briscoe14Stewart-Haas RacingFord
23Austin Dillon3Richard Childress RacingChevrolet
24Corey LaJoie7Spire MotorsportsChevrolet
25Bubba Wallace2323XI RacingToyota
26Chris Buescher17Roush Fenway RacingFord
27Erik Jones43Richard Petty MotorsportsChevrolet
28Michael McDowell34Front Row MotorsportsFord
29Justin Haley77Spire MotorsportsChevrolet
30Anthony Alfredo38Front Row MotorsportsFord
31Ryan Preece37JTG Daugherty RacingChevrolet
32B.J. McLeod78Live Fast MotorsportsFord
33Cody Ware51Petty Ware RacingChevrolet
34Joey Gase53Rick Ware RacingChevrolet
35Quin Houff00StarCom RacingChevrolet
36David Starr13MBM MotorsportsToyota
37Josh Bilicki52Rick Ware RacingChevrolet
38Garrett Smithley15Rick Ware RacingChevrolet
39Timmy Hill66MBM MotorsportsToyota

NASCAR Cup Series Qualifying Overview

Following the virus-caused interruption to racing last season, NASCAR did away with practice and qualifying runs at the majority of races. A combination of grouped draws and a performance-metrics formula were used to determine starting lineups. That same formula remains in place for the majority of races on the 2021 NASCAR Cup Series season, including this weekend’s Pennzoil 400.

So, what exactly is involved in the performance-metrics formula? Well, it draws on a number of factors including individual race performances and seaosn-long results. The following breakdown illustrates the weighted grades associated with each component of NASCAR’s metrics formula:

NASCAR Cup Series Metrics Formula Breakdown

  • 35 percent: Team owner points ranking
  • 25 percent: Driver’s finishing position from the previous race
  • 25 percent: Car owner’s finishing position from the previous race
  • 15 percent: Fastest lap from the previous race
Kevin Harvick Pennzoil 400 starting lineup NASCAR Cup Series
Credit: Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

Pennzoil 400 Stats and NASCAR Betting Facts

  • Pole-sitter and race favorite Kevin Harvick has won the Pennzoil 400 twice in his career (2015, 2018).
  • Joey Logano has won each of the last two Pennzoil 400 races.
  • Jimmie Johnson holds the record for the most career Pennzoil 400 wins all-time with four.
  • Among active drivers, Kevin Harvick, Joey Logano and Brad Keselowski are all tied with two career Pennzoil 400 wins apiece.
  • Joey Logano’s average speed as the 2020 race winner was 134.861 mph. This marked the slowest winning average speed since Kyle Busch in 2009.
  • Ford has seen its cars win each of the last three and five of the last seven editions of the race. Ford also has the most all-time wins in the race with 12.
  • The Pennzoil 400 is unique from all other NASCAR Cup Series races in that the winner receives a championship belt rather than a trophy.

More in NASCAR