Connect with us


Coke Zero Sugar 400 Starting Lineup and Stats for NASCAR Cup Series Race

The final race of the 2021 NASCAR Cup Series regular season is scheduled for this weekend. Perhaps only fittingly, the season ends right where it began at Daytona International Speedway. Saturday night’s Coke Zero Sugar 400 represents the last chance for any number of drivers to win and claim the final spot in the NASCAR Playoffs. The unpredictability of superspeedway racing gives even the longshots a chance. There will be plenty of position shuffling throughout the evening, but those drivers near the front in the Coke Zero Sugar 400 starting lineup will at least have an early positional advantage.

The following article contains all kinds of vital information to get you set for Saturday’s NASCAR Cup Series action under the lights. Read on for the complete Coke Zero Sugar 400 starting lineup, start time, race facts and NASCAR stats.

NASCAR Cup Series Coke Zero 400 starting lineup Daytona International Speedway stats
Credit: Getty Images

NASCAR Cup Series at Daytona International Speedway

62nd Coke Zero Sugar 400
Date: Saturday, August 28, 2021
Start Time: 7 p.m. EST
Track: Daytona International Speedway — Daytona Beach, FL
Coverage: NBC
Pole Sitter: Kyle Larson
Defending Champion: William Byron

Coke Zero Sugar 400 Race Details

Distance: 400 miles
Laps: 160
Lap Length: 2.5 miles
Stages: Three (Laps 1-50; 51-100; 101-160)
Surface: Asphalt
Turns: 4

Coke Zero Sugar 400 Starting Lineup

See below for a breakdown of the qualifying metrics formula.

Starting PositionDriverCar NumberTeamManufacturer
1Kyle Larson5Hendrick MotorsportsChevrolet
2Chase Elliott9Hendrick MotorsportsChevrolet
3William Byron24Hendrick MotorsportsChevrolet
4Ryan Blaney12Team PenskeFord
5Kurt Busch1Chip Ganassi RacingChevrolet
6Denny Hamlin11Joe Gibbs RacingToyota
7Cole Custer41Stewart-Haas RacingFord
8Christopher Bell20Joe Gibbs RacingToyota
9Kevin Harvick4Stewart-Haas RacingFord
10Joey Logano22Team PenskeFord
11Brad Keselowski2Team PenskeFord
12Martin Truex Jr.19Joe Gibbs RacingToyota
13Kyle Busch18Joe Gibbs RacingToyota
14Matt DiBenedetto21Wood Brothers RacingFord
15Alex Bowman48Hendrick MotorsportsChevrolet
16Ross Chastain42Chip Ganassi RacingChevrolet
17Daniel Suarez99Trackhouse RacingChevrolet
18Aric Almirola10Stewart-Haas RacingFord
19Ryan Newman6Roush Fenway RacingFord
20Tyler Reddick8Richard Childress RacingChevrolet
21Ricky Stenhouse Jr.47JTG Daugherty RacingChevrolet
22Chase Briscoe14Stewart-Haas RacingFord
23Austin Dillon3Richard Childress RacingChevrolet
24Corey LaJoie7Spire MotorsportsChevrolet
25Bubba Wallace2323XI RacingToyota
26Chris Buescher17Roush Fenway RacingFord
27Erik Jones43Richard Petty MotorsportsChevrolet
28Michael McDowell34Front Row MotorsportsFord
29Justin Haley77Spire MotorsportsChevrolet
30Anthony Alfredo38Front Row MotorsportsFord
31Ryan Preece37JTG Daugherty RacingChevrolet
32B.J. McLeod78Live Fast MotorsportsFord
33Cody Ware51Petty Ware RacingChevrolet
34Joey Gase53Rick Ware RacingChevrolet
35Quin Houff00StarCom RacingChevrolet
36David Starr13MBM MotorsportsToyota
37Josh Bilicki52Rick Ware RacingChevrolet
38Garrett Smithley15Rick Ware RacingChevrolet
39Timmy Hill66MBM MotorsportsToyota

NASCAR Cup Series Qualifying Overview

Following the interruption to racing last season, NASCAR did away with practice and qualifying runs at the majority of races. A combination of grouped draws and a performance-metrics formula was used to determine starting grids. That same formula remains in place for the majority of races on the 2021 NASCAR Cup Series season, including this Saturday’s Coke Zero Sugar 400 starting lineup.

So, what exactly is involved in the performance-metrics formula? Well, it draws on a number of factors including individual race performances and season-long results. The following breakdown illustrates the weighted grades associated with each component of NASCAR’s metrics formula:

NASCAR Cup Series Metrics Formula Breakdown

  • 35 percent: Team owner points ranking
  • 25 percent: Driver’s finishing position from the previous race
  • 25 percent: Car owner’s finishing position from the previous race
  • 15 percent: Fastest lap from the previous race
William Byron Coke Zero Sugar 400 starting lineup stats NASCAR Cup Series
Credit: Getty Images

Coke Zero Sugar 400 Race History and NASCAR Stats

  • The first edition of this race came in 1959 and was won by Hall of Famer, Fireball Roberts. It was a 100-lap, 250-mile event and was named the Firecracker 250 in honor of its taking place on the Fourth of July.
  • Like the Daytona 500, the Coke Zero Sugar 400 has been held annualy at Daytona International Speedway since 1959. It has, however, been run under several different title sponsor names.
  • From its inception through 2019, the race was run either on or around Independence Day. As part of a schedule revamp following the 2019 season, the second Daytona race was moved to late August and now serves as the final race of the NASCAR Cup Series regular season.
  • David Pearson tops the all-time list for total wins in the Coke Zero Sugar 400. He lifted the trophy five different times, including in three consecutive years from 1972-74.
  • Cale Yarborough and Tony Stewart sit just behind Pearson on the all-time wins list with four apiece.
  • No active NASCAR Cup Series driver has won this race more than once. In fact, only seven current full-time Cup drivers have previously won the Coke Zero Sugar 400.
  • In chronological order, those seven drivers with wins are Kyle Busch (2008), Kevin Harvick (2010), Aric Almirola (2014), Brad Keselowski (2016), Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (2017), Erik Jones (2018) and William Byron (2020).
  • Wood Brothers Racing leads all race teams with nine total victories in this race. However, the most recent came all the way back in 1983.
  • Defending champion Hendrick Motorsports sits second on the all-time wins list among race teams with seven victories. Three have come in the last eight years. Roush Fenway Racing ranks third with five all-time wins.
  • Chevrolet holds the slimmest of leads over Ford when it comes to manufacturer wins in the Coke Zero Sugar 400. Byron’s 2020 victory broke a tie and gave Chevy a 20-19 advantage over Ford. Toyota, the only other current manufacturer, has just two total wins.

Follow us on all of our social channels! Check out our Twitter, Facebook and YouTube for more great FlurrySports content.

webull ad

Click the image to claim your free stocks!


Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in NASCAR