Connect with us


Buschy McBusch Race 400 Starting Lineup and Stats for NASCAR Cup Series Race

After making the massive jump from short track racing to Talladega Superspeedway, the drivers and teams of the NASCAR Cup Series find themselves dealing with a track somewhere in between this week. Kansas Speedway is set to host the first of two NASCAR weekends at the track this season. The Buschy McBusch Race 400 (yes, that’s the name of the race!) is scheduled to be run on Sunday afternoon. The 1.5-mile oval has put on many entertaining races over the years. The field found out their respective spots in the Buschy McBusch Race 400 starting lineup on Wednesday.

This article contains all kinds of vital information necessary to get you ready for the eleventh race of the NASCAR Cup Series season. Read on for the Buschy McBusch Race 400 starting lineup, start time, fast facts and NASCAR betting stats.

Want more NASCAR stats? Check out our updated driver standings and statistics article, complete with breakdown and analysis!

NASCAR Cup Series Kansas Speedway Buschy McBusch Race 400 starting lineup
Credit: USA TODAY Sports

NASCAR Cup Series at Kansas Speedway

11th Buschy McBusch Race 400
Date: Sunday, May 2, 2021
Start Time: 3 p.m. EST
Track: Kansas Speedway — Kansas City, KS
Coverage: FS1
Pole Sitter: Brad Keselowski
Defending Champion: Denny Hamlin

Buschy McBusch Race 400 Race Details

Distance: 400.5 miles
Laps: 267
Lap Length: 1.5 miles
Stages: Three (Laps 1-80; Laps 81-160; Laps 161-267)
Surface: Asphalt
Turns: 4

Buschy McBusch Race 400 Starting Grid

See below for a breakdown of qualifying.

Starting PositionDriverCar NumberTeamManufacturer
1Kyle Larson5Hendrick MotorsportsChevrolet
2Chase Elliott9Hendrick MotorsportsChevrolet
3William Byron24Hendrick MotorsportsChevrolet
4Ryan Blaney12Team PenskeFord
5Kurt Busch1Chip Ganassi RacingChevrolet
6Denny Hamlin11Joe Gibbs RacingToyota
7Cole Custer41Stewart-Haas RacingFord
8Christopher Bell20Joe Gibbs RacingToyota
9Kevin Harvick4Stewart-Haas RacingFord
10Joey Logano22Team PenskeFord
11Brad Keselowski2Team PenskeFord
12Martin Truex Jr.19Joe Gibbs RacingToyota
13Kyle Busch18Joe Gibbs RacingToyota
14Matt DiBenedetto21Wood Brothers RacingFord
15Alex Bowman48Hendrick MotorsportsChevrolet
16Ross Chastain42Chip Ganassi RacingChevrolet
17Daniel Suarez99Trackhouse RacingChevrolet
18Aric Almirola10Stewart-Haas RacingFord
19Ryan Newman6Roush Fenway RacingFord
20Tyler Reddick8Richard Childress RacingChevrolet
21Ricky Stenhouse Jr.47JTG Daugherty RacingChevrolet
22Chase Briscoe14Stewart-Haas RacingFord
23Austin Dillon3Richard Childress RacingChevrolet
24Corey LaJoie7Spire MotorsportsChevrolet
25Bubba Wallace2323XI RacingToyota
26Chris Buescher17Roush Fenway RacingFord
27Erik Jones43Richard Petty MotorsportsChevrolet
28Michael McDowell34Front Row MotorsportsFord
29Justin Haley77Spire MotorsportsChevrolet
30Anthony Alfredo38Front Row MotorsportsFord
31Ryan Preece37JTG Daugherty RacingChevrolet
32B.J. McLeod78Live Fast MotorsportsFord
33Cody Ware51Petty Ware RacingChevrolet
34Joey Gase53Rick Ware RacingChevrolet
35Quin Houff00StarCom RacingChevrolet
36David Starr13MBM MotorsportsToyota
37Josh Bilicki52Rick Ware RacingChevrolet
38Garrett Smithley15Rick Ware RacingChevrolet
39Timmy Hill66MBM MotorsportsToyota

NASCAR Cup Series Qualifying Overview

Following the virus-caused interruption to racing last season, NASCAR did away with practice and qualifying runs at the majority of races. A combination of grouped draws and a performance-metrics formula were used to determine starting grids. That same formula remains in place for the majority of races on the 2021 NASCAR Cup Series season, including this weekend’s Buschy McBusch Race 400 starting lineup.

So, what exactly is involved in the performance-metrics formula? Well, it draws on a number of factors including individual race performances and seaosn-long results. The following breakdown illustrates the weighted grades associated with each component of NASCAR’s metrics formula:

NASCAR Cup Series Metrics Formula Breakdown

  • 35 percent: Team owner points ranking
  • 25 percent: Driver’s finishing position from the previous race
  • 25 percent: Car owner’s finishing position from the previous race
  • 15 percent: Fastest lap from the previous race
Kevin Harvick NASCAR Cup Series Buschy McBusch Race 400 starting lineup NASCAR betting stats Kansas Speedway
Credit: Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

Buschy McBusch Race 400 Stats and NASCAR Betting Facts

  • With Busch Beer becoming the title sponsor of the race this season, the company put the official name of the race up to a fan contest. Fans paid $1 to submit their race names for consideration with all money being donated to the non-profit charity Farm Rescue. As seen throughout the article, the winning name was “Buschy McBusch Race 400”.
  • Although the spring race at Kansas Speedway has only been around for ten years, it has had several other names in the past. In 2015, it was run as the “SpongeBob SquarePants 400”.
  • When it comes to all-time victories at Kansas, current NASCAR Cup Series driver Kevin Harvick sits in a three-way tie with Jimmie Johnson and Jeff Gordon at three apiece.
  • Since its inception in 2011, Brad Keselowski and Denny Hamlin are the only drivers to win the Buschy McBusch Race 400 more than once. Each has two victories in this race, with Hamlin being the defending champion and Keselowski last winning in 2019.
  • Joe Gibbs Racing leads all race teams with four victories in the race. Hamlin’s win last year was JGR’s first in this race since Kyle Busch in 2016.
  • Hendrick Motorsports and Team Penske are the only other teams with multiple wins in this race with two apiece.
  • Toyota leads all manufacturers with five wins in the Buschy McBusch Race 400. Four came courtesy of Joe Gibbs Racing while the fifth came by way of Martin Truex Jr. and Furniture Row Racing in 2017.

Follow us on all of our social channels! Check out our Twitter, Facebook and YouTube for more great FlurrySports content.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in NASCAR