Connect with us


Instacart 500 Starting Lineup and Stats for NASCAR Cup Series Race

The NASCAR Cup Series stays out west this week for the Instacart 500 at Phoenix Raceway. The race marks the first of two that the 1-mile track will host this season. The second won’t be until the final race of the season when the series will crown its 2021 champion.

This article contains all of the vital information necessary to get you ready for the fourth race of the NASCAR Cup Series season. Read on for the Instacart 500 starting lineup, start time, fast facts and statistics.

NASCAR Cup Series Phoenix Raceway Instacart 500 Starting Lineup
Credit: Getty Images

NASCAR Cup Series at Phoenix Raceway

17th Instacart 500
Date: Sunday, Mar. 14, 2021
Start Time: 3:30 p.m. EST
Track: Phoenix Raceway — Avondale, AZ
Coverage: FOX
Pole Sitter: Brad Keselowski
Defending Champion: Joey Logano

Instacart 500 Race Details

Distance: 312 miles (500 kilometers)
Laps: 312
Lap Length: 1.022 miles (1.645 kilometers)
Stages: Three (Laps 1-75; Laps 76-190; Laps 191-312)
Surface: Asphalt
Turns: 4

Instacart 500 Starting Grid

See below for a breakdown of qualifying.

Starting PositionDriverCar NumberTeamManufacturer
1Kyle Larson5Hendrick MotorsportsChevrolet
2Ryan Blaney12Team PenskeFord
3Brad Keselowski2Team PenskeFord
4Kyle Busch18Joe Gibbs RacingToyota
5Chase Elliott9Hendrick MotorsportsChevrolet
6Denny Hamlin11Joe Gibbs RacingToyota
7Martin Truex Jr.19Joe Gibbs RacingToyota
8Joey Logano22Team PenskeFord
9William Byron24Hendrick MotorsportsChevrolet
10Christopher Bell20Joe Gibbs RacingToyota
11Kevin Harvick4Stewart-Haas RacingFord
12Tyler Reddick8Richard Childress RacingChevrolet
13Kurt Busch1Chip Ganassi RacingChevrolet
14Austin Dillon3Richard Childress RacingChevrolet
15Matt DiBenedetto21Wood Brothers RacingFord
16Daniel Suarez99Trackhouse RacingChevrolet
17Erik Jones43Richard Petty MotorsportsChevrolet
18Michael McDowell34Front Row MotorsportsFord
19Chase Briscoe14Stewart-Haas RacingFord
20Aric Almirola10Stewart-Haas RacingFord
21Chris Buescher17Roush Fenway RacingFord
22Cole Custer41Stewart-Haas RacingFord
23Corey LaJoie7Spire MotorsportsChevrolet
24Ross Chastain42Chip Ganassi RacingChevrolet
25Alex Bowman48Hendrick MotorsportsChevrolet
26B.J. McLeod78Live Fast MotorsportsFord
27Bubba Wallace2323XI RacingToyota
28Ricky Stenhouse Jr.47JTG Daugherty RacingChevrolet
29Anthony Alfredo38Front Row MotorsportsFord
30Josh Bilicki52Rick Ware RacingChevrolet
31Ryan Newman6Roush Fenway RacingFord
32Ryan Preece37JTG Daugherty RacingChevrolet
33Justin Haley77Spire MotorsportsChevrolet
34Ryan Ellis15Rick Ware RacingChevrolet
35Quin Houff00StarCom RacingChevrolet
36Cody Ware51Petty Ware RacingChevrolet
37Chad Finchum66MBM MotorsportsFord
38David Starr13MBM MotorsportsFord
39Joey Gase53Rick Ware RacingChevrolet
40Parker Kligerman96Gaunt Brothers RacingToyota

NASCAR Cup Series Qualifying Overview

Following the virus-caused interruption to racing last season, NASCAR did away with practice and qualifying runs at the majority of races. A combination of grouped draws and a performance-metrics formula were used to determine starting lineups. That same formula remains in place for the majority of races on the 2021 NASCAR Cup Series season, including this weekend’s Instacart 500.

So, what exactly is involved in the performance-metrics formula? Well, it draws on a number of factors including individual race performances and seaosn-long results. The following breakdown illustrates the weighted grades associated with each component of NASCAR’s metrics formula:

NASCAR Cup Series Metrics Formula Breakdown

  • 35 percent: Team owner points ranking
  • 25 percent: Driver’s finishing position from the previous race
  • 25 percent: Car owner’s finishing position from the previous race
  • 15 percent: Fastest lap from the previous race
Joey Logano NASCAR Cup Series Instacart 500 starting lineup Phoenix Raceway NASCAR Betting
Credit: Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

Instacart 500 Stats and NASCAR Betting Facts

  • Joey Logano won the 2020 Instacart 500 with the slowest average speed of any winner in the history of the race (94.407 mph)
  • Kevin Harvick leads all drivers with five career wins in the Instacart 500; four have come while driving for Stewart-Haas.
  • Stewart-Haas Racing leads all teams with five wins in this race.
  • Chevrolet leads all manufacturers with 10 wins with the last one coming in 2017.
  • Kevin Harvick won the Instacart 500 in four out of the five years from 2014-18.
  • Aside from Kevin Harvick, Ryan Newman is the only other active driver with multiple Instacart 500 wins (2010, 2017).
  • The 2010 race was extended to 600 kilometers in a reaction by track officials to new NASCAR start time rules.
  • Toyota drivers have won four of the last six races at Phoenix Raceway.

More in NASCAR