Connect with us


FCS Football Awards: Buck Buchanan Award Finalists

On Monday, 18 finalists for the FCS Stats Perform Buck Buchanan Award were revealed. The award is presented to the National Defensive Player of the Year in the FCS Spring Football season. This will be the 26th time the award, named after the legendary defensive end, will be handed out. The Buck Buchanan Award winner will be announced on May 15th.

A 40-member national media panel will select the winner from this 2021 FCS football season. Past winners include Jared Allen, Arthur Moats and Kyle Emmanuel.

Check out the finalists below!

Buck Buchanan Award FCS Spring Football kordell jackson
Credit: Colby Wilson/APSU Athletics

Buck Buchanan Award Finalists | FCS Football

Name, PositionSchoolStats
Bryson Armstrong, LBKennesaw State30 Tackles, 5.5 TFL, 1.5 Sacks, 75-yard INT returned for a TD
Jared Brinkman, NTNorthern Iowa38 Tackles, 9 TFL, 3.5 Sacks, 2 Forced Fumbles, 1 Fumble Recovery, 3 QB-Hits
Colby Campbell, LBPresbyterian96 Tackles, 7 TFL, 1 Sack, 1 Forced Fumble, 1 QB-Hit, 2 Passes Defended
Isaiah Chambers, DEMcNeese State32 Tackles, 14 TFL, 7.5 Sacks, 11 QB-Hits, 2 Passes Defended
Chris Edmonds, DBSamford40 Tackles, 2.5 TFL, 2 Forced Fumbles, 1 Fumble Recovery, 4 INTs (1 TD), 1 Pass Defended
Mike Greene, DLJames Madison15 Tackles, 8 TFL, 2.5 Sacks, 2 QB-Hits, 2 Passes Defended
Ryan Greenhagen, LBFordham22 Tackles, 2 TFL, 1 Sack, 1 Pass Defended
Nicario Harper, SJacksonville State79 Tackles, 1.5 TFL, 3 INTs, 3 Passes Defended, 1 Fumble Return TD, 1 QB-Hit
Kordell Jackson, DBAustin Peay54 Tackles, 9 TFL, 1.5 Sacks, 1 INT, 5 Passes Defended, 1 Fumble Recovery, 4 QB-Hits, 1 Blocked Kick
Storey Jackson, LBPrairie View A&M50 Tackles, 8.5 TFL, 2 Sacks, 2 Forced Fumbles, 1 Fumble Recovery, 1 INT
La’akea Kaho’ohanohano-Davis, LBSouthern Utah57 Tackles, 9 TFL, 7 Sacks, 2 Forced Fumbles, 3 QB-Hits, 2 Passes Defended
Jahari Kay, DESam Houston State22 Tackles, 8 TFL, 5.5 Sacks, 4 Forced Fumbles, 1 Fumble Recovery, 1 INT, 3 QB-Hits
Titus Leo, LBWagner15 Tackles, 4 TFL, 2 Sacks, 2 Forced Fumbles
Jordan Lewis, DESouthern27 Tackles, 15 TFL, 10.5 Sacks, 1 Forced Fumble
Robert Rochell, CBCentral Arkansas27 Tackles, 1 TFL, 1 Forced Fumble, 1 Fumble Recovery, 3 Passes Defended (Played In 2021 Senior Bowl)
Stone Snyder, LBVMI76 Tackles, 9.5 TFL, 8 Sacks, 4 QB-Hits
Tre Walker, LBIdaho54 Tackles, 4.5 TFL, 2 Sacks, 1 Forced Fumble, 1 QB-Hit, 1 Pass Defended
Tristan Wheeler, LBRichmond38 Tackles, 2.5 TFL
Buck Buchanan Award Finalists

Other FCS Football Awards Given Out

Walter Payton Award: Given to the best offensive player during the 2021 FCS Spring Football season.

Jerry Rice Award: This award is given to the FCS football Freshman of the Year.

Eddie Robinson Award: Coach of the Year award in the FCS.

Doris Robinson Scholar-Athlete of the Year: This Award will be given out for the fifth time to an FCS football student-athlete who excels not only on the field and in the classroom, but the community as well.

Follow us on all of our social channels! Check out our Twitter, Facebook and YouTube for more great FlurrySports content.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in NCAA